Rural PREP Grand Rounds: The Physician as Leader in the Hospital, Community, State, and Nation

Date:
Thursday, November 29th, 2018
Time:
10:30 am -11:30 am, PT
11:30 am – 12:30 pm, MT
12:30 pm – 1:30 pm, CT
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm, ET

Presenter:
John Meigs, MD, FAAFP,
Family Physician in Centreville, Alabama &
Board Chair of the American Academy of Family Physicians

Abstract

The role of the physician typically not does not end with the hospital or clinical setting. Due to their intimate knowledge of the healthcare system and their communities, physicians often take on leadership roles at the local, state, and national levels. Connecting and networking in rural settings must be intentional. Physicians may not have access to larger university or hospital networks. Dr. John Meigs has vast experience as a rural medical leader who has taken the leadership role of the physician to heart and served at the highest national levels of family medicine.

Learning Objectives

After this presentation, participants will be able to:

  1. Articulate potential leadership roles in the community, hospital, state, and nation
  2. Understand the need to be proactive and advocate for specific causes in a rural setting
  3. Apply the principles of leadership to their own community context and stage of career development

Pre-Session Review Content

Prior to the November 2018 Grand Rounds event, participants will:

  1. Read James L. Reinertsen’s (1998) Physicians as Leaders in Improving Health Care,
    American college of Physicians, p. 833-838.
  2. Read Stephen Crane’s (2006) Rural Physicians and Community Leadership, NC Medical Journal, p. 63-65. (accessed October 17, 2018)

Pre-Session Assignment

Download

Presenter

John Meigs, MD, FAAFP
Family Physician in Centereville, Alabama & Board Chair of the American Academy of Family Physicians